A Little Pool & Billiard History

February 7, 2008 · 1 Comment

Reader John Holmer asked us the other day who the World 9-Ball Champion was in 1981. Well, here's the deal - there WAS no 9-Ball World champion - the National Pool Classic was the 9-Ball championship of note that year, won by Chicago's Tom Spencer. The BCA held a "World Open 8-Ball Championship" in '81 and those honors went to Danny Diliberto. The 1981 World Straight Pool Championship, one of the last promoted by the Professional Pool Players Association (PPPA), was won by BCA Hall of Famer Mike Sigel. Mike "Captain Hook" defeated friend and fellow Hall of Famer Nick Varner in the finals. Teen hot shot Loree Jon Ogonowski won the women's division.


1 response so far ↓

  • 1 Tom Spencer // Jan 12, 2011 at 12:44 AM

    Thanks for the long memory,P&B.Also,for those who don't remember it was P&B's creator Harold S. that created the NPBA(National Pool & Billiards Association) back in 1981,along with several National Championships to follow.

Leave a Comment

Leave this field empty:

Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory   My Zimbio  Top Stories